2015 Stars

I don’t think I’ve had a year where music has played such an important role as in 2015. Living abroad, lots and lots of long walks, plenty of time on my own… Everything set the perfect mood for welcoming music as the perfect companion. I should’ve listened more than 80 records throughout the year -that’s how much I avoided people- but out of all of this music there were a few songs that took a bigger part of my attention. We clicked almost instantly and they’ve been on repeat ever since becoming as part of this year as many persons and places. Since I’m ending one of the most special years I’ve had so far, I wanted a musical reminder in case I get nostalgic 50 years from now. So here they’re, 70-year-old-Alejandro, 10 songs that will take you back to 2015 when things used to far more complicated than they really were (hope so).

10. Loud Places – Jamie xx feat. Romy.

The first lines of this first song talk about a particular contradiction from our times:

I go to loud places
To search for someone
To be quiet with…

Even if we live in a world that is packed with people and noise, the necessity of finding that person is still as vital as ever. The craziness that surrounds us hasn’t made us colder or less interested in connecting, on the opposite, it has shown us what’s truly important. Because no matter how colorful or loud a place is if it’s not shared with the right one it will feel gray and empty. “There’s no worse feeling than feeling lonely in a room full of people”. I’ve heard this phrase a million of times, but I’ve rarely seen it expressed as nicely as in this song.

9. Want You So Bad – The Vaccines.

The most direct song from this list. There’s no catch, hidden message or weird metaphor (wait until #6 for that).

What does it talk about then?

Well, it talks about a boy who wants a girl so bad. That’s it. But as we know it, it’s not the story that we fall in love with but the way it’s told. In this case The Vaccines deliver the same old heartbreak song in a way that makes you want to get dumped just so you can sing: “No care for what I’ve got or what I have, ‘cause I want you, I want you so bad”.

8. Pretty Pimpin – Kurt Vile.

From the first listen you can tell that Kurt Vile is dealing with some deep stuff. What has to happen in someone’s life so you’re not able to recognize yourself in the mirror anymore? Throughout the song he finds himself combing someone else’s hair and brushing someone else’s teeth wondering what happened in the middle. Once again, Kurt Vile combines amazing lyrics with a kick-ass guitar to create a song that makes you think about all those moments when you stare at yourself from the outside thinking ‘who the fuck is this guy?’

7. When We Were Young – Adele.

Here it is: an Adele song. I must confess that I tried not to like this one as much as I did but I just failed. One of the many reasons is that it deals with an idea that has been running through my mind lately: as you grow older your past will become a better place to be. Written alongside Tobias Jesso Jr. (who released his awesome debut album this year), these two created a melancholic anthem that will not only remind you how hard it is to grow old but also the importance of surrounding yourself with people that will always make you feel like home. And if these aren’t enough reasons for giving this song a chance just check the performance below.

6. stonemilker – björk.

Now it’s time for those weird metaphors that I talked to you before! Of course I’m referring to björk. In this song she compares getting her lover being sincere with her with milking a stone, so in other words, pretty hard. Strangely, this is the only detour she takes during the seven-minute track as she expresses her feelings in an uncommonly honest and raw way. During the release of Vulnicura björk said that this album was so personal that it was painful to listen to. And it shows. Also there’s the epic 360-degree companion video, which does nothing but to enhance the experience of enjoying one of the best songs that björk has crafted in the last few years.

5. Lonely Town – Brandon Flowers.

It was a surprise for many people but Brandon Flowers released an incredible album this year. Among this compendium of 80’s influenced tracks, the one that stands out for me is ‘Lonely Town’. What I like the most about this song is the fact that it appears to be something different than it really is. From an innocent story about unrequited love you end up dealing with a story about *spoiler ahead* a stalker with psychotic tendencies. Anyway, now that I’ve ruined the whole thing, you can just relax and enjoy this track which happens to have a great video as well.

4. Let It Happen – Tame Impala.

Once again Tame Impala manages not only to create a journey that will take you from Point A to Point A29 but also to say something meaningful along the way. Everyone has this voice inside them telling them which might be their next move. Well, this song is about that moment of realization when we choose to answer our call. It’s not an easy decision, that’s for sure, and that’s why ‘Let It Happen’ it’s packed with uncertainty, surprise and mystery. The message matches the channel and that’s just something amazing. Here you’ll find the fantastic song’s video but don’t forget to also check the whole eight-minute track so you can get the complete experience.

3. I Love You, Honeybear – Father John Misty.

I barely know how long a moment is
Unless we are naked getting high on the mattress
While the global market crashes…

Life goals, people. That’s what this song is all about. It’s not your typical romantic song but that doesn’t mean it won’t be the most romantic song you’ve heard in a long time. Father John Misty refers to love as the ultimate shelter against world. There are no hugs and kisses, no matching tattoos or creative proposals, only a need of survival, hidden fears and raw emotion because…

Everything is doomed, and nothing will be spared
But I love you, honeyber.

2. Future People – Alabama Shakes.

I thought I liked Alabama Shakes but then they released ‘Sound & Color’ and I just had to reconsider it. Their music, which used to have all this southern vibe with songs that talked about everyday problems was suddenly replaced with a mixture of rock’n’roll and blues that talked about the universe and the afterlife. The Alabama Shakes that I used to love had turned into something else, and against all odds, they were so much better.

‘Future People’ is the best example of this evolution: you’ve never heard Brittany Howard sound like this and you’ve never seen her write songs with that much depth. When I saw them performing this song at the Olympia Theatre last month I had the feeling that I was being part of something special, and a few weeks later, I’m starting to come to terms with the fact that I really was.

1. Should Have Known Better – Sufjan Stevens.

Art is the way we choose to express ourselves but sometimes it becomes more of a need than a choice. At least that’s how I felt about Sufjan Stevens when I heard his autobiographic song for the first time. There’s no way of keeping yourself together without sharing these stories somehow. A mother abandoning her son, a child growing up feeling lonely, a man unable to understand himself, a spark of light in the shape of a newborn… It’s like packing a whole life of sadness and disappointment, sending it away and finally being able to breathe with relief.

The fact that I keep discovering something different every time I listen to this song tells me how much life inhabits inside. Heartbreaking and mournful but yet hopeful and promising… This is how this song unveils itself, but if you think about it, life too.

Deja un comentario

Comments (

1

)

  1. 2016 Stars. – El lugar de los comienzos.

    […] jugado un papel tan importante en mi vida, pero entonces me di cuenta que escribí esto mismo en mi lista del año pasado, así que decidí aceptar el hecho de que la música iba a jugar un papel importante en mi vida […]